Preventing Medical School Burnout

OUWB medical students

US News and World Report recently published an article about medical schools offering wellness and social programs aimed at helping med students achieve work-life balance. Oakland University William Beaumont (OUWB) School of Medicine was featured for its mentoring groups used to discuss such topics as managing stress and conflict and dealing with mistakes.

We went right to the source and asked a handful of busy OUWB students their tips and tricks for preventing burnout:

“I play golf to relieve stress, oftentimes with my classmates. I am an avid player and plan on competing in the Michigan Amateur after Boards.” – Christopher Jaeger, Charter Class of 2015

“Find some time during the day to move your body; whether it be dancing, running, walking, swimming, or jumping rope, and pay attention to how it makes you feel. After my movement of choice (it changes all the time), I take 5-10 minutes to focus on breathing and envision the day ahead. By doing this in the morning, I approach the day with tons of energy, focus and a sense of purpose.”  – Nicole Lederman, Charter Class of 2015

“To prevent burnout, I try to go horseback riding once a week. Riding requires my focused attention so it allows me to temporarily escape the demands and worries of medical school.” – Sara Singer, Charter Class of 2015

“I write for three different blogs (personal, Kaplan, MedScape); organizing my thoughts through writing is really cathartic after a long day. I also put aside at least 30 minutes each day to go to the gym and get my heart rate up.” – Amanda Xi, Charter Class of 2015

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

