Extra Life | Meet Britany Gibbs

extra_life_britany

Britany lives in Rochester Hills and is studying to become a medical assistant at Macomb Community College and also volunteers at Beaumont Hospital. We asked Britany a few questions about her gaming preferences, why she’s participating in Extra Life and what is her favorite game of all time. If you’d like to make a donation to Britany, click “Support Me” at the bottom of the page.

How did you hear about Extra Life and why did you decide to become involved?

I came across Extra Life through my gaming clan. They had a team together already. I went to the site and started reading about it and thought it was one of the coolest charities I’ve ever seen! I wanted to get involved because not only did it involve one of my favorite passions but also, I would be doing my part to help sick children.

Do you have any relationship with Beaumont Children’s Hospital or just playing for the closest CMN affiliate? 

I just recently started volunteering at Beaumont Hospital in Troy so I figured I’d do one for the Beaumont team and help with their company.

Are you a pretty active gamer? What is your favorite system? Games?

I would say I play about 4 – 5 days a week. That seems pretty active to me! My favorite system to play on is XBox 360 with PC in a close second. I’m typically one to play first person shooter games like Call Of Duty, but I enjoy Minecraft and I also play the occasional World of Warcraft quest here and there.

How will you be preparing for the 25-hour gaming marathon?

This truly will be the longest I’ve gone playing games. I think my record right now is around 12 hours. I might go into it as if I’m doing a workout: stay hydrated, healthy snacks and make sure to get up and walk around to get the blood flowing. My main game selection for the marathon will be Call of Duty: Black Ops 2. I plan to play that until my eyes feel like their going to pop out of my head then I may switch to Halo 4 or Minecraft for a little bit.

What is your favorite game of all time?

This is a tough one! Honestly I’m going to say it’s a tie between Mario Kart 64 or Katamari Demacy. Both games can entertain for hours.

Can you tell us more about the Extra Life Team you’re a part of?

Yes! The team I am part of is Pandora’s Mighty Hope. This team is comprised of members from my girl gaming clan, PMS (Pandora’s Mighty Soldiers) and our men’s division, H2O.  The clan was formed in 2002, I joined just this past year. PMS is the largest all-girl, multi-platform gaming community in the world. I play specifically for the XBox division but there is also representation in PS3, PC and Wii.

extra_life_support

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

