Extra Life | Meet Tyson Gerchow

extra_life_tyson

Tyson Gerchow works as a software engineer for Quicken Loans in downtown Detroit. He lives in Ferndale and is part of Team Reddit for Extra Life. We asked Tyson a few questions about his gaming preparation, why he’s participating in Extra Life and what is his favorite game of all time. If you’d like to make a donation to Tyson, click “Support Me” at the bottom of the page.

How did you hear about Extra Life and why did you decide to become involved?

I read about Extra Life online and, when I did, I knew it was worthwhile. As a child, I had more than a couple extended stays in the hospital for medical procedures. Those experiences had the potential to be upsetting, but, due to the care I was given, they weren’t. My memories of those events were largely positive. I think that all children should be afforded the opportunity to be properly cared for in as comforting an environment as possible.

Do you have any relationship with Beaumont Children’s Hospital or just playing for the closest CMN affiliate?

I don’t have a relationship with Beaumont Children’s Hospital directly, but I’m grateful for the work Beaumont does. My aunt was diagnosed with cancer a while back and, while she eventually lost her battle, Beaumont Health System was able to extend the time she had left and provide her the comfort and dignity to make that time as pleasant as possible. Additionally, the treatment they provide has ensured that my 93-year-old grandmother is healthy, happy and regularly beating me at Uno.

What is your favorite game of all time?

Team Fortress 2, by far. I’ve played it regularly since its release in 2007. Being assaulted by a mouthy Bostonian wielding a fish wrapped in newspaper is as entertaining as it is humiliating.

How will you be preparing for the 25-hour gaming marathon?

The final stretch of the marathon can be a little rough, but I have some ground rules to keep me going: Limit caffeine and carbs, play multiplayer games with friends and, if I start to lose steam, fire up Amnesia, a survival horror game I’ve yet to bring myself to complete. It’s creepy, to say the least.

Are you a pretty active gamer? What is your favorite system? Games?

Gaming is my primary hobby. I’m a PC gamer at heart and have been building my own gaming PCs for the past 15 years, but I won’t turn down a good console game. Recently, I’ve really enjoyed Bioshock Infinite, Borderlands 2 and Rogue Legacy.

extra_life_support

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Extra Life | Meet Tyson Gerchow

  1. Marcia Webb says:

    Awesome 🙂 Love your story!

  2. Mary says:

    AwesomeTyson! So glad they featured you!!! I know you can do this again!

Leave a Reply

