New Year, New You | Beaumont Health System

New Year New You

Start the New Year right by making positive changes towards a new you! A New Year, New You! Healthy eating? Exercise? Planning to complete a 5K in the spring? What’s your New Year’s resolution and how do you plan to make a New You in 2014?

Until February 14, Beaumont is launching the New Year, New You program to help everyone focus on making small positive changes in diet, exercise and general health. Make little changes to improve day to day and set realistic health goals that you can work towards all year long. Maybe that means taking the stairs instead of the elevator, cooking more meals at home or getting making sure to eat a healthy breakfast each morning. These little changes add up to big results.

“Starting with one or two relatively small and realistic goals is more successful than taking on several large goals at once.  Persistence with these new healthy habits, and gradual addition of more small goals over time, will lead you on a long-term path of wellness.” – Dr. Wendy Miller, Medical Director, Weight Control Center

We’ll be posting helpful blogs each week with new ways to help get you on track and help you stay on track. You can join us by signing up on the Beaumont Facebook page and sharing your New Year’s resolutions and goals with us. You also have the chance to win a free healthy cooking class at Beaumont or a Beaumont cookbook.

You can also share your New Year goals by using the hashtag #NewYearNewYou on Twitter or Instagram. We’ll be looking for some of your New Year’s resolutions and sharing them online.

Join us for a New Year, New You!

Tagged , , ,

6 thoughts on “New Year, New You | Beaumont Health System

  1. Nichole Bruster says:

    I plan on doing at least 2 5k’s this year. Last year I did 1 and figure “If I did one I can do two!” We will see where that ends up 🙂 Happy New Year!!

  2. Brittany Walker says:

    I work at the Beaumont Home Health Services building, which is literally a mile from my house. One of my goals this year is to start riding my bike to work on nice days once spring rolls around. I also plan on getting back into the habit of walking my dog after work on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays. While I’m not a big runner, I would like to do some of the walks they have around Metro Detroit during the spring and summer.

  3. Gina Layog says:

    Working midnights afford me the opportunity to walk around Somerset Mall in the early hours of the morning, when the shops are closed. It may suprise you, but, there’s a lot of people walking around Somerset Mall. I really love it, it helps relieve the stress, and just unwind, before I go home and sleep. I see the sunlight through those glass windows and ceilings, and cold, hot, snow, I can always walk there. Been doing it for close to 2 years now. Will always do it as long as Someret Mall is around.

Leave a Reply

